Board of Zoning Appeals

The Sugarcreek Township Board of Zoning Appeals consists of five members and two alternate members appointed by the Sugarcreek Township Trustees. The Board of Zoning Appeals meets the fourth Thursday of each month at 7:00 pm at the Sugarcreek Township Administration Office, 2090 Ferry Road.

The Board of Zoning Appeals is tasked with the following responsibilities:

  • Hear and decide appeals;
  • Authorize, upon appeal, in specific cases, such variance from the terms of the Zoning Resolution as will not be contrary to the public interest, where, owing to special conditions, a literal enforcement of the Zoning Resolution will result in unnecessary hardship (use variance) or practical difficulties (area/dimensional variance);
  • Hear and decide on conditional uses for the use of lands, buildings, or other structures as provided for in the Zoning Resolution; and
  • All other powers conferred upon Township Boards of Zoning Appeals in Section 519.14 of the Ohio Revised Code.

Current Board of Zoning Appeals Members:

Erin Moore, Chairperson
Jim Froehlich, Vice Chairperson
Cindy Vantrease
Dan Haibach
Shanna Staten
Brandon Morris, Alternate

2023 Board of Zoning Appeals Meeting Schedule (PDF)

Legal Notices for Pending Cases

Please contact the Planning and Zoning Department at 937-848-8426 for information and assistance in making an application to the Sugarcreek Township Board of Zoning Appeals.